What’s so great about Pantone’s 2014 Color of the Year Radiant Orchid?

Pantone made its big announcement today that its 2014 Color of the Year is Radiant Orchid.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 8.44.37 AM

What’s so interesting about that?

Most interior designers and bloggers are not that excited about it. Of course, a few are, but really, when was the last time you walked into a house with a lavender living room? The most I see is an occasional bedroom (it would be lovely in a master bedroom and I have a similar color in my daughter’s bedroom).

From a fashion standpoint, the color makes more sense as it can enliven your wardrobe with a punch of color and it works well with both silver and gold accents!

What I notice is that it’s the first time in several years that a color with a hint of grey in it (a “dirty” or “earthy” color) has been used.

Granted, it’s not SUPER earthy, but it is definitely a bit toned down as well as lighter than the past few years’ worth of super bright colors, which you could totally pair together, while Radiant Orchid would look out of place!

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 8.48.12 AM

So to me, that signals that even though this pretty lavender color still works with the “it” neutral grey,

it is a first step back toward the earth tones that will eventually bring back beiges and browns again!

In fact, it might be just the thing to update your espresso brown leather sofa!

What do you think? Will this be the beginning of the end for GREY????

4 thoughts on “What’s so great about Pantone’s 2014 Color of the Year Radiant Orchid?

  1. carolanne

    getting use to the idea of it, not sure how long before I can find it in fabric
    totally would work with brown leather if you can find an area rug and pillows to pull it together….

    Reply
    1. organizedohana Post author

      Thanks so much, Carol, for your comment! I wonder if we will start seeing more mainstream options using this color in area rugs, like you said. I will be keeping my eyes open!

      Reply
  2. Claire Jefford

    Hey Jennifer, great post! I do like this colour, but I must admit that I am partial to purple hues. You are exactly right in saying that it would work well with the espresso couch. My bathroom (the last room in the house to be updated) has the original lilac tiles on the walls. Until we renovate the best I could do was paint it ‘Wenge’ by Benjamin Moore, which is dark brown with a hint of purple undertones. It works really well.

    I don’t know about the greys going just yet, but the ‘greiges’ are definitely here in Canada. Thanks for sharing your views on this!

    Reply
    1. organizedohana Post author

      Thanks, Claire! I have a cousin and two daughters who adore purples. I am sure their homes will include some kinds of it in the future, just like their bedrooms do now! I love the idea of Wenge with lilac! Your blog is also wonderful, I am enjoying it so much as well as your Houzz books 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

